Skip to main content

Edinburgh Centre for Medical Anthropology: People

Search

Committee

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Ian Harper Professor of Anthropology of Health and Development; Director, Edinburgh Centre for Medical Anthropology (EdCMA) International development,South Asia,Medical Anthropology,Global Health Policy 6.07 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3816
ian.harper@ed.ac.uk
Stefan Ecks Medical Anthropology,Medical pluralism,Anthropology of Pharmaceuticals,Anthropology of food,Transcultural psychiatry 4.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6969
Stefan.Ecks@ed.ac.uk
Alexander Edmonds Professor of Social and Medical Anthropology 18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 9920
alex.edmonds@ed.ac.uk
Sumeet Jain Lecturer in Social Work community mental health,culture and health,ethnography,well being,South Asia,'global mental health' 2.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 1463
sumeet.jain@ed.ac.uk
Hannah Lesshafft PhD Student, Social Anthropology Medical Anthropology,art and healing,self-and-other,Imagination,care,self-care,Complementary and Alternative Medicines (CAM),Faith healing,Social Movements,Health inequalities,Ethnography,Mixed methods research,Brazil Rm. 5.13, Chrystal Macmillan Building
15A George Square
H.Lesshafft@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lucy Lowe Lecturer in Global Health, University of Glasgow Lucy.Lowe@glasgow.ac.uk
No Photo Laura Major Career Development Fellow (Lecturer), Social Anthropology Ethnography,Memory,Material Culture,Conflict and Post-Conflict Politics,Museum Studies,Anthropology of Death,Anthropology of the body 3.20, 3F1 
18 Buccleuch Place
0131 6511 329
l.major@ed.ac.uk
Rebecca Marsland Head of Social Anthropology; Senior Lecturer Medical Anthropology,Tanzania,East Africa,Funerals,International development,HIV and AIDS,Witchcraft,Human-animal relationships,Bees,Veterinary Anthropology 5.06 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3864
R.Marsland@ed.ac.uk
Alice Nagle PhD Student, Social Anthropology Performativity,Sexuality,Religious Identity,Childbearing,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,Christianity,Comedy and Humour,gender,marriage,Religion And Ritual,Kinship,Anthropology of the United States,Subjectivity and Personhood,agency,East Africa,life cycles,ethics and ideology,pregnancy,Pregnancy Loss,social reproduction Crystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
a.e.nagle@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alex Nading Lecturer in Social Anthropology Medical Anthropology,Environmental anthropology,Science and technology studies,Latin American Culture and Society 4.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 5120
Alex.Nading@ed.ac.uk
Alice Street Senior Lecturer; Chancellors Fellow Anthropology of Melanesia,Biomedical knowledge(s), practices and technologies,hospital ethnography,State building,International development,Bureaucratic Power,nutraceuticals 4.26 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+33 (0)131 6515573
Alice.Street@ed.ac.uk
Marlee Tichenor Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Usher Institute of Population Health Sciences and Informatics marlee.tichenor@ed.ac.uk