Skip to main content

Edinburgh Centre for Medical Anthropology: People

Search

Committee

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Leah Eades PhD Student, Social Anthropology Medical Anthropology,Feminist Anthropology,Reproductive Health,Reproductive Politics,Abortion 15a George Square
leah.eades@ed.ac.uk
Stefan Ecks Senior Lecturer; Deputy Director (PG Taught) Medical Anthropology,Medical pluralism,Anthropology of Pharmaceuticals,Anthropology of food,Transcultural psychiatry 4.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6969
Stefan.Ecks@ed.ac.uk
Alexander Edmonds Professor of Social and Medical Anthropology Anthropology of health and medicine,War veterans,Mental health,Military cultures,Military psychiatry,Plastic surgery,gender and beauty,Health and international development,Ethnicity and race 4.26 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 650 9920
alex.edmonds@ed.ac.uk
Ian Harper Professor of Anthropology of Health and Development International development,South Asia,Medical Anthropology,Global Health Policy 5.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3816
ian.harper@ed.ac.uk
Sumeet Jain Senior Lecturer in Social Work; International Director, School of Social and Political Science community mental health,culture and health,ethnography,well being,South Asia,'global mental health' 2.29 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 1463
sumeet.jain@ed.ac.uk
Hannah Lesshafft PhD Student, Social Anthropology Medical Anthropology,art and healing,self-and-other,Imagination,care,self-care,Complementary and Alternative Medicines (CAM),Faith healing,Social Movements,Health inequalities,Ethnography,Mixed methods research,Brazil Rm. 5.13, Chrystal Macmillan Building
15A George Square
H.Lesshafft@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lucy Lowe Director of EdCMA Reproduction,Diaspora,Migration & Transnationalism,Maternity,Somalia,Kenya,Urban Refugees,Gender,Medical Anthropology,Islam,Sex,Motherhood,Sexuality,Reproductive Justice,Reproductive rights 5.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0131) 650 4286
Lucy.Lowe@ed.ac.uk
Rebecca Marsland Senior Lecturer Medical Anthropology,Tanzania,East Africa,Funerals,International development,HIV and AIDS,Witchcraft,Human-animal relationships,Bees,Veterinary Anthropology 5.06 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3864
R.Marsland@ed.ac.uk
Pia Noel PhD Student, Social Anthropology Medical Anthropology,Global Mental Health,Nepal and the Himalaya,Medical pluralism,Development and Humanitarian Aid,Transcultural psychiatry,Anthropology of psychiatry,International development,Public health,Disability Studies 4.15
Pia.Noel@ed.ac.uk
Ayaz Qureshi Lecturer in Medical Anthropology ethnography,Pakistan,Public health,Bureaucracy,HIV/AIDS,Gender and Development,Neoliberal Governmentality 5.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 5361
ayaz.qureshi@ed.ac.uk
Ritti Soncco Postdoctoral Researcher
Alice Street Senior Lecturer Anthropology of Melanesia,Biomedical knowledge(s), practices and technologies,hospital ethnography,State building,International development,Bureaucratic Power,nutraceuticals G.1 
22 George Square
+44 (0)131 6515573
Alice.Street@ed.ac.uk
Marlee Tichenor Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Usher Institute of Population Health Sciences and Informatics marlee.tichenor@ed.ac.uk