Skip to main content

Edinburgh Centre for Medical Anthropology: People

Search

Membership

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Sudeepa Abeysinghe Lecturer in Global Health Policy Global Health Policy,Infectious Disease,Risk,sociology of scientific knowledge 2.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6515471
Sudeepa.Abeysinghe@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Radha Adhikari Research Associate CSAS radhaadhikari@yahoo.com
Debbie Aitken Senior Lecturer in Medical Education & Director of Clinical Educator Programme 0131 242 6651
debbie.aitken@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Maxine Blackburn Research Fellow 0131 650 3247
m.blackburn@ed.ac.uk
Bridget Bradley PhD Student, Social Anthropology Medical Anthropology,Diagnosis,Classification,identity,Beauty,Hair,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,gender,femininity and masculinity,shame and stigma,Mental Health,Self Care,Medicalisation and Expertise,Activist Anthropology,Silence,Trichotillomania,Body Focussed Repetitive Behaviours,Anthropology of Britain Chrystal MacMillan Building, EH8 9LD
+44 (0)784 0011 224
Bridget.Bradley@ed.ac.uk
Francesca Bray Professor of Social Anthropology Material Culture,China and East Asia,Gender regimes,Agriculture and the politics of food,Technology and society francesca.bray@ed.ac.uk
Janet Carsten Professor of Social and Cultural Anthropology 5.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3935
J.carsten@ed.ac.uk
Jacob Copeman Senior Lecturer South Asia,Gurus,Atheism,Blood Donation,Tissue Economies,Social Reform,Media,Technology and society,India,Medical Anthropology,Names and Naming 5.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 6506860
Don Duprez PhD Student, Social Anthropology Medical Anthropology,Indigenous cosmologies,kinship and gender,Reproductive Health,Anthropology of time,Refugee studies,Urban anthropology,Religious practices,Biomedical knowledge(s), practices and technologies,Diaspora and transnationalism,Subjectivity and Personhood,organizations and institutions,ethnography,China and East Asia,Southeast Asia 1-720-980-6382
DonDuprez@gmail.com
Lukas Engelmann Chancellor's Fellow - History and Sociology of Biomedicine Medical history,Medical Anthropology,Medical sociology,digital culture,Epidemiology 2.01 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)1316506367
Lukas.Engelmann@ed.ac.uk
Jean-Benoit Falisse Lecturer in Africa and International Development African Great Lakes region,Health policy,Access to justice,Access to education,Migration and development,Fragile states,Media and conflict 4.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 1632
jb.falisse@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Lydie Fialova Archie Duncan Fellow in Medical Ethics lydie.fialova@ed.ac.uk
Sandalia Genus PhD Student, Social Anthropology Medical Anthropology,Pharmaceuticals,Vaccination,Political Economy of Health,Malaria,Clinical Trials,Global Health,International development,Tanzania Chrystal Macmillan Building, 15a George Square
s.genus@sms.ed.ac.uk
Chrissie Wanner PhD Student, Social Anthropology multispecies ethnography,medical and veterinary anthropology,Kinship,Human-animal relationships,Britain George Square
chrissiewanner@gmail.com
Gill Haddow Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow Patient experiences,Cyborgs,Sociology of health and illness,Medical sociology,Qualitative Research Methods,embodiment,public engagement 2.05 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0) 131 650 2389
gill.haddow@ed.ac.uk
John Harries Senior Teaching Fellow and Deputy Director of the Undergraduate School (Progression and Student Experience) Social memory,time and temporality,indigeneity and identity (particularly in postcolonial settler societies),matter and materiality,the senses and the environment,Canada,Newfoundland,the Beothuk 5.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 651 3065
j.harries@ed.ac.uk
Michael Heneise PhD Student, South Asian Studies Indigenous healing,personhood,vision,and the state,Cosmopolitics,Anthropology of dreaming,Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,Medical Anthropology,Himalaya,South Asia,Amazonia and Latin America,Sacred ecology Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+91 708 596 1330
heneise@gmail.com
Roger Jeffery Professor of Sociology of South Asia; Associate Director, Edinburgh India Institute Health policy,Emerging economies and global health,Health systems and global health,Political Economy of India,The Sociology of Scotland Room 2, 22A Buccleuch Place 
+44 (0)131 650 3976
R.Jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Anuj Kapilashrami Lecturer in Global Health Policy, Programme Director for MSc. in Global Health & Public Policy Associate Director, Global Development Academy ethnography,Health policy,South Asia,Social movements,privatisation,commercial sector engagement / trade in health policy,global governance,gender inequalities 2.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 1316511929
anuj.kapilashrami@ed.ac.uk
Lilian Kennedy PhD Student, Social Anthropology Memory,Subjectivity and Personhood,Dementia,Care,Love,time and temporality,Family relationships,Kinship and relatedness,STS,GPS tracker technology,NHS 5.16
lilian.kennedy@ed.ac.uk
Pete Kingsley Research and Teaching Fellow Participation,Africa,Global Health Policy,Health and Development,Sociology of health and illness,Anthropology of Love,Nigeria,South Sudan 4.13 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
pete.kingsley@ed.ac.uk
Roslyn Malcolm PhD Student, Social Anthropology Autism,Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,Embodiment,Emergent Forms of Life,Empathy,Intersubjectivity,Medical Anthropology,Human-animal relationships Office 5.15, Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 623 2860
R.C.Malcolm@sms.ed.ac.uk
Fadhila Mazanderani Chancellor's Fellow Social movements,Patient experiences,Public health,Health policy,Sociology of Knowledge,Medical sociology,Social media and internet technologies,Chronic illness,Care ethics 1.01A Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
f.mazanderani@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Kate Milosavljevic Post-doctoral research fellow Science and technology studies,Human-animal relationships,Bees,Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,Agriculture and the politics of food,new scientific and medical technologies,,Urban Ethnography,Agriculture and Rural Livelihoods,prostheses,Technology and society 3.22 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 6630
k.milosavljevic@ed.ac.uk
Pia Noel PhD Student, Social Anthropology Medical Anthropology,Mental Health,Humanitarian intervention,Complementary and Alternative Medicines (CAM),Body Work,Poverty,International development,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,Nepal,Buddhism,Hinduism,Yoga,Social Determinants of Health,Discourses of Health and Wellness,Neo and Post-Colonial Studies,Resilience,Global Health,South Asia Pia.Noel@ed.ac.uk
Jennifer Palmer Research Fellow, Investigating Networks of Zoonosis Innovation (INZI) Humanitarian intervention,South Sudan,trypanosomiasis,diagnostics,elimination,Medical anthropology 4.13 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
jennifer.palmer@ed.ac.uk
Martyn Pickersgill Wellcome Trust Reader in Social Studies of Biomedicine 0131 650 3202
martyn.pickersgill@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Emily Ross Research Fellow 0131 650 3233
emily.ross@ed.ac.uk
Jeevan Sharma Lecturer in South Asia and International Development; Deputy Director- Global Development Academy Migrant labor,Migration and development,livelihoods,Gender and Development,Youth,human rights,Development and Humanitarian Aid,Global Health,Reproductive & child health,Monitoring and Evaluation,Nepal and the Himalaya,South Asia 5.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6511760
jeevan.sharma@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Devi Shridar Professor of Global Public Health 0131 650 6194
devi.sridhar@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Ting Ting Shum PhD Student, Social Anthropology China,Infectious Disease,Tuberculosis,Public Health Practice and Policy,Care,Subjectivity and Personhood,Value t.shum@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Judith Sim Lecturer, Biomedical Teaching Organisation (BMTO), School of Biomedical Sciences jsim1@exseed.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Pam Smith Professor of Nursing Education, School of Health and Social Science
Felix Stein Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Usher Institute of Population Health Sciences and Informatics felix.stein@ed.ac.uk
Steve Sturdy Professor of the Sociology of Medical Knowledge History of science and medicine,Medical sociology,sociology of scientific knowledge,genomics,Historical sociology 2.08 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 651 4741
S.Sturdy@ed.ac.uk
Samuel Taylor-Alexander
Neil Thin Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology; Deputy Director of the Undergraduate School (Progression and Student Experience) happiness,wellbeing and the good life,social planning,appreciative (positive) research and planning 5.27 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3880
n.thin@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Laura Winterton PhD Student s1267542@sms.ed.ac.uk