Skip to main content

Social Anthropology:

Search

People

Faculty

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Richard Baxstrom Professor of Anthropology and the Humanities; Deputy Head of School and Director of Learning and Teaching - School of Social and Political Science Urban anthropology,Cinema,Art,popular culture,Southeast Asia,Anthropology and Philosophy,Anthropology of ethics,Religion And Ritual,Witchcraft,History of anthropology,North America,Neoliberal Governmentality,Neoliberalism 5.29 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4051
Richard.Baxstrom@ed.ac.uk; for matters pertaining to SPS Learning and Teaching: sps.dhos@ed.ac.uk
Tom Boylston Lecturer Ethiopia,the Ethiopian Orthodox Church,Media anthropology,Game studies,Anthropology of Religion,Anthropology of Technology 5.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3909
tom.boylston@ed.ac.uk
Janet Carsten Professor of Social and Cultural Anthropology 5.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3935
J.carsten@ed.ac.uk
Jacob Copeman Senior Lecturer South Asia,Gurus,Atheism,Blood Donation,Tissue Economies,Social Reform,Media,Technology and society,India,Medical Anthropology,Names and Naming 5.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 6506860
Magnus Course Senior Lecturer in Social Anthropology ethnography,Mythology and folklore,Memory,Language and Identity,Gaelic Scotland,crofting,Environment,fishing,the sea,Chile,South America 5.23 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3893
Magnus.Course@ed.ac.uk
Jamie Cross Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology; Associate Dean (Knowledge Exchange and Impact), College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences ethnography,International development,South Asia,renewable energy,Solar photovoltaics,Technology and society,Sub-Saharan Africa Room 5.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Office: +44(0)1316515181 Mobile: +44(0)7552817310
jamie.cross@ed.ac.uk
Stefan Ecks Senior Lecturer; Deputy Director (PG Taught) Medical Anthropology,Medical pluralism,Anthropology of Pharmaceuticals,Anthropology of food,Transcultural psychiatry 4.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6969
Stefan.Ecks@ed.ac.uk
Alexander Edmonds Professor of Social and Medical Anthropology Anthropology of health and medicine,War veterans,Mental health,Military cultures,Military psychiatry,Plastic surgery,gender and beauty,Health and international development,Ethnicity and race 4.26 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 650 9920
alex.edmonds@ed.ac.uk
Jamie Furniss Lecturer in International Development Middle East and North Africa,Anthropology of development,Egypt,Waste and waste collectors  +44 (0)131 651 5675
jamie.furniss@ed.ac.uk
Ian Harper Professor of Anthropology of Health and Development; Director, Edinburgh Centre for Medical Anthropology (EdCMA) International development,South Asia,Medical Anthropology,Global Health Policy 6.07 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3816
ian.harper@ed.ac.uk
John Harries Senior Teaching Fellow and Deputy Director of the Undergraduate School (Progression and Student Experience) time and temporality,indigeneity and identity (particularly in postcolonial settler societies),matter and materiality,the senses and the environment,Canada,Newfoundland,the Beothuk,social memory,contentious heritage 5.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 651 3065
j.harries@ed.ac.uk
Naomi Haynes Chancellor's Fellow and Lecturer in Social Anthropology Christianity,Political economy,Southern Africa,Hierarchy,Values,Economic anthropology,Religion And Ritual G.1 
22 George Square
+44(0)131 650 4052
Naomi.Haynes@ed.ac.uk
Casey High Senior Lecturer 5.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
01316515180
C.High@ed.ac.uk
Lotte Hoek Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology Media anthropology,Sexuality,Visual Culture,Cinema,Urban Ethnography,South Asia,Bangladesh,Pakistan 5.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6544
lotte.hoek@ed.ac.uk
Juli Huang Lecturer in Anthropology of Development Pro-poor markets,Carbon markets,Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR),social enterprise,Gender and Development,Science,technology and development,Corporations,Anthropology of Money,Alternative currencies,Economic anthropology,International development,South Asia,Bangladesh,Iran 5.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4269
juli.huang@ed.ac.uk
Delwar Hussain Lecturer and Chancellors Fellow ethnography,Gender and Sexuality,Borderlands,Bangladesh,Fences,South Asia,Modernisation,Decolonisation,War on terror,Political Islam,Religious Identity,labour,religion,LGBT,Spain,history,Pakistan,India  George Square
+44 (0)131 651 5071
delwar.hussain@ed.ac.uk
Laura Jeffery Senior Lecturer in Social Anthropology Forced displacement,Migration studies,Environmental anthropology,Indian Ocean studies,Anthropology of Britain,Mauritius,Chagos islanders,Critical heritage studies,Environment and society,Conservation and development,Human-environment relations,Maldives,Seychelles,Ethnomusicology,Migration and development,intangible cultural heritage,roads and connective infrastructure 5.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (131) 651 3860
laura.jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Aaron Kappeler Lecturer in Anthropology of Development International development,Agriculture and Rural Livelihoods,Food Security,labor,Environment,Political ecology,Capitalism and its critics,indigeneity,mestizaje,sovereignty,State formation,populism,Latin American Culture and Society 5.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
akappele@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Tobias Kelly Professor of Political and Legal Anthropology Political and legal anthropology,Political violence,Pacifism,Human rights,Anthopology of Britain,Historical Anthropology,Israeli-Palestinian conflict 3.23 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (131) 650 3986
Toby.Kelly@ed.ac.uk
Lucy Lowe Deputy Director Edinburgh Centre for Medical Anthropology Feminism,gender,Reproductive Health,Somalia,Migration and Displacement,Refugee studies,,Motherhood,Reproductive Justice,Diaspora and transnationalism,Gender and Health,Kenya,sexuality 5.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4286
Lucy.Lowe@ed.ac.uk
Siobhan Magee Lecturer in Social Anthropology Kinship and relatedness,Marriage,History and Memory,Gender and Sexuality,Material Culture,United States,Poland,Political and economic anthropology,Legal anthropology,Food and clothing industries G.3 
22a Buccleuch Place
siobhan.magee(at)ed.ac.uk
Rebecca Marsland Head of Social Anthropology; Senior Lecturer Medical Anthropology,Tanzania,East Africa,Funerals,International development,HIV and AIDS,Witchcraft,Human-animal relationships,Bees,Veterinary Anthropology 5.06 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3864
R.Marsland@ed.ac.uk
Maya Mayblin Senior Lecturer 5.22 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
maya.mayblin@ed.ac.uk
Ayaz Qureshi Lecturer in Medical Anthropology ethnography,Pakistan,Public health,Bureaucracy,HIV/AIDS,Gender and Development,Neoliberal Governmentality 5.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 5361
ayaz.qureshi@ed.ac.uk
Lotte Buch Segal Dr ethnography,Political violence,Israel-Palestine,Anthropology of the Middle East,gender,Kinship and relatedness,Trauma,Anthropology of ethics,Ethnic and Religious Minorities in Scandinavia 4.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
George Square
+ 45 29 40 30 55
lotte.segal@ed.ac.uk
Jeevan Sharma Senior Lecturer in South Asia and International Development Migrant labor,Migration and development,livelihoods,Gender and Development,Youth,human rights,Development and Humanitarian Aid,Global Health,Reproductive & child health,Monitoring and Evaluation,Nepal and the Himalaya,South Asia 5.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6511760
jeevan.sharma@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Spencer Regius Professor of South Asian Language, Culture and Society Religion and Politics,Sri Lanka,South and Southeast Asia,Buddhism,War and peace 3F1, 3.24 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 3944
jonathan.spencer@ed.ac.uk
Alice Street Senior Lecturer Anthropology of Melanesia,Biomedical knowledge(s), practices and technologies,hospital ethnography,State building,International development,Bureaucratic Power,nutraceuticals G.1 
22 George Square
+44 (0)131 6515573
Alice.Street@ed.ac.uk
Neil Thin Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology; Director of Undergraduate Teaching (Social Anthropology) happiness,wellbeing and the good life,political bilingualism,virtue signalling and conspicuous compassion,appreciative research,aspirational social planning 5.27 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3880
n.thin@ed.ac.uk
Dimitri Tsintjilonis Lecturer Death,sacrifice,personhood,spirit possession,monsters,Indonesia,Greece 5.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3934
D.Tsintjilonis@ed.ac.uk