Skip to main content

Social Anthropology:

Search

People

PhD Students

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Joe Anderson Gun Culture,Gun Ownership,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,California,History,National Belonging,San Diego,Phenomenology,United States,America,Anthropology of the United States,ethnography,Anthropology of ethics  s0824638@sms.ed.ac.uk
Bridget Bradley Medical Anthropology,Diagnosis,Classification,identity,Beauty,Hair,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,gender,femininity and masculinity,shame and stigma,Mental Health,Self Care,Medicalisation and Expertise,Activist Anthropology,Silence,Trichotillomania,Body Focussed Repetitive Behaviours,Anthropology of Britain  +44 (0)784 0011 224
Bridget.Bradley@ed.ac.uk
Marina Fernández-Buil Anthropology of History,Anthropology of the Senses,Ethnomusicology,Historicity,Temporality,Embodiment,Performing Arts,Politics of Space,Memory,Cultural Rights,Culture Commodification,Heritage,Politics of Representation and Knowledge Production,Collaborative Ethnography,Hereditary Musicians,Western Rajasthan,South Asia  s1682722@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Leah Eades Medical Anthropology,Reproductive Health,Reproductive Politics,Abortion,Medical Abortion  L.A.Eades@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alex Gapud Memory,identity,England,Post-imperialism,Materiality,Politics of Memory,Past-presencing,Historical consciousness,heritage,colonial aphasia,Silence,Metropolitan Postcolonial Memory  +44(0)7580 268376
A.Gapud(at)ed.ac.uk
Alysa Ghose Feminism,gender,Religious Identity,Witchcraft,femininity and masculinity,Intersectionality,spirits and the dead,Cuba,Latin America and the Caribbean,Power (domination,authority,legitimacy),personhood,ontology,spiritual development,intergenerational relationships,Kinship,knowledge production,empathy,intuition,African diaspora religions,embodiment and materiality,race  +44 7961902513
a.e.ghose@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo John Hagström Anthropology of non-religion,Secular humanism,Atheism,Secularism and secularity,Ethics and morality  j.o.hagstrom@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lilian Kennedy Memory,Subjectivity and Personhood,Dementia,Care,Love,time and temporality,Family relationships,Kinship and relatedness,STS,GPS tracker technology,NHS  lilian.kennedy@ed.ac.uk
Mairi O'Gorman Values,Indian Ocean,Seychelles,Youth,Return / transnational migration,intimacy  s1259259@sms.ed.ac.uk
Roslyn Malcolm Autism,Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,Embodiment,Empathy,Intersubjectivity,Human-animal relationships,Science and technology studies,History of science and medicine,Sociality,Kinship,sensorium,Phenomenology,Interdisciplinary Research,Energy  +44 (0)131 623 2860
Roslyn.Malcolm@.ed.ac.uk
Q. Adam Marshall Cambodia,Phnom Penh,Religion And Ritual,Khmer Buddhism,Khmer Evangelical Christianity,belief,the 'heart',ethics,Space,place and the city,Subjectivity and Personhood,nationalism,Modernity,Anthropology of the state  q.a.marshall@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hannah McInnes-Dean Maternity,Paternity,Parents and parenthood,Gender and parenting,Sex & Gender,Reproductive Health,Kinship,Medical Anthropology,Childbearing,Perinatal care and support,Parental Leave  h.j.mcinnes-dean@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alice Nagle Performativity,Sexuality,Religious Identity,Childbearing,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,Christianity,Comedy and Humour,gender,marriage,Religion And Ritual,Kinship,Anthropology of the United States,Subjectivity and Personhood,agency,East Africa,life cycles,ethics and ideology,pregnancy,Pregnancy Loss,social reproduction  a.e.nagle@sms.ed.ac.uk
Declan Murray Electricity,Rubbish,Trash,Solar,Energy,Waste,Power,Design,Repair,Photovoltaics,E-waste,Maintenance,Infrastructure  s0804505@sms.ed.ac.uk
Pia Noel Medical Anthropology,Global Mental Health,Nepal and the Himalaya,Medical pluralism,Development and Humanitarian Aid,Transcultural psychiatry,Anthropology of psychiatry,International development,Public health,Disability Studies  Pia.Noel@ed.ac.uk
R. Elliott Oakley Environmental anthropology,Amazonia,Guyana,Indigenous Peoples,Conservation and development,Waiwai people,personhood  r.e.oakley@sms.ed.ac.uk
Katarina Ockova Kinship and relatedness,History and Memory, especially as explored through intergenerational relations,Jewishness,Diaspora and transnationalism,Marriage and marital preferences,Community Belonging,Religion And Ritual,gender,Slovakia  K.Ockova@sms.ed.ac.uk
Silvia Pergetti Anthropology of development,Materiality,Infrastructure,Imagination,Modernity,Solar energy,Energy transition,Distributed generation,India,Rural electrification,International development  silvia.pergetti@ed.ac.uk
Rishabh Raghavan Citizenship,Criminality,Bureaucracy,Police,Energy & Infrastructure,illegality,thermal power plants,Tamil Nadu  rishabh.raghavan@ed.ac.uk
Lindsay Randall Gender,,Kinship,Islam,International development,Ethiopia,Marriage and polygamy,Anthropology of time,Feminist Theory,Political Anthropology,Ecnomic Anthropology,Anthropology of Childhood,Agency and Subjectivity  +44 07397812730
lindsay.randall@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Ting Ting Shum China,Infectious Disease,Tuberculosis,Public Health Practice and Policy,Care,Subjectivity and Personhood,Value  t.shum@sms.ed.ac.uk
Emma Teale Christianity,Scotland,Prophecy,Spiritual territorialisation,Temporality,Celticism,Religious heritage,Leadership and Organisation  Emma.Teale@ed.ac.uk
Catherine Whittaker Gender,and Violence,Mexico,Mesoamerica,Nahuatl,cosmology,Intersectionality,Catholicism,Marginality,Religion And Ritual,Politics of Indigeneity,affect and emotion,love  s1355862@sms.ed.ac.uk
Inna Yaneva-Toraman Anthropology of the body,personhood,death,Melanesia,Material Culture,Masks,Religion And Ritual,Christianity,Economic anthropology,land ownership,indigenous rights,Conservation and development  i.yaneva-toraman@ed.ac.uk