Skip to main content

Social Anthropology:

Search

People

PhD Students

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Joe Anderson Gun Culture,Gun Ownership,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,California,History,National Belonging,San Diego,Phenomenology,United States,America,Anthropology of the United States,ethnography,Anthropology of ethics  s0824638@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sebastien Bachelet Morocco,political anthropology,Human rights,Migration studies,illegality,advocacy,creative arts  Seb.Bachelet@ed.ac.uk
Imogen Bevan Medical Anthropology,Anthropology of food,Kinship,Addiction,Anthropology of Britain,Anthropology of the body,Anthropology of Global Health,Mental Health,Scotland,Social Inequality,ethnography,Children and Young People,,food,Anthropology of emotions  imogen.bevan@ed.ac.uk
Bridget Bradley Medical Anthropology,Diagnosis,Classification,identity,Beauty,Hair,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,gender,femininity and masculinity,shame and stigma,Mental Health,Self Care,Medicalisation and Expertise,Activist Anthropology,Silence,Trichotillomania,Body Focussed Repetitive Behaviours,Anthropology of Britain  +44 (0)784 0011 224
Bridget.Bradley@ed.ac.uk
Marina Fernández-Buil Anthropology of History,Anthropology of the Senses,Ethnomusicology,Historicity,Temporality,Embodiment,Performing Arts,Politics of Space,Memory,Cultural Rights,Culture Commodification,Heritage,Politics of Representation and Knowledge Production,Collaborative Ethnography,Hereditary Musicians,Western Rajasthan,South Asia  s1682722@sms.ed.ac.uk
Juan Alberto Claux Anthropology of psychiatry,Schizophrenia and other mental illnesses,Medical ethics,Biomedicine and politics  J.A.CLAUX@sms.ed.ac.uk
Resto Cruz Kinship and relatedness,Siblingship,personhood,Work,social mobility,Middle class,Inequality,Inheritance,Education,Professions,Transnational labour migration,Care,Intergenerational relations,Philippines,Southeast Asia,Austronesia  R.S.Cruz@sms.ed.ac.uk
Don Duprez Medical Anthropology,Indigenous cosmologies,kinship and gender,Reproductive Health,Anthropology of time,Refugee studies,Urban anthropology,Religious practices,Biomedical knowledge(s), practices and technologies,Diaspora and transnationalism,Subjectivity and Personhood,organizations and institutions,ethnography,China and East Asia,Southeast Asia  1-720-980-6382
DonDuprez@gmail.com
Alex Gapud Memory,identity,England,Post-imperialism,Materiality,Politics of Memory,Past-presencing,Historical consciousness,heritage,colonial aphasia,Silence,Metropolitan Postcolonial Memory  +44(0)7580 268376
A.Gapud(at)ed.ac.uk
Sandalia Genus Medical Anthropology,Pharmaceuticals,Vaccination,Political Economy of Health,Malaria,Clinical Trials,Global Health,International development,Tanzania  s.genus@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alysa Ghose Feminism,gender,Religious Identity,Witchcraft,femininity and masculinity,Intersectionality,spirits and the dead,Cuba,Latin America and the Caribbean,Power (domination,authority,legitimacy),personhood,ontology,spiritual development,intergenerational relationships,Kinship,knowledge production,empathy,intuition,African diaspora religions,embodiment and materiality,race  +44 7961902513
a.e.ghose@sms.ed.ac.uk
Véronique Gilbert Sexuality,Seduction,Material Culture,Witchcraft,Anthropology of emotions,Gender,Marriage and polygamy,Anthropology of food,Anthropology of Love,Feminism,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,Senegal  veronique.gilbert@ed.ac.uk
Chrissie Wanner multispecies ethnography,medical and veterinary anthropology,Kinship,Human-animal relationships,Britain  chrissiewanner@gmail.com
Lilian Kennedy Memory,Subjectivity and Personhood,Dementia,Care,Love,time and temporality,Family relationships,Kinship and relatedness,STS,GPS tracker technology,NHS  lilian.kennedy@ed.ac.uk
Dr. Jenny Lawy Anthropology of Botswana,Indigenous Peoples,higher education,identity politics,Power,minority politics,minority rights,Advocacy,recogntion,voice,democracy,Citizenship  +44 (0)7432423105
j.lawy@ed.ac.uk or jennylawy@gmail.com
Hannah Lesshafft Medical Anthropology,art and healing,self-and-other,Imagination,care,self-care,Complementary and Alternative Medicines (CAM),Faith healing,Social Movements,Health inequalities,Ethnography,Mixed methods research,Brazil  H.Lesshafft@sms.ed.ac.uk
Mairi O'Gorman Values,Indian Ocean,Seychelles,Youth,Return / transnational migration,intimacy  s1259259@sms.ed.ac.uk
Diego Malara the Ethiopian Orthodox Church,spirit possession,divination,art and healing,personhood,orthodoxy and heterodoxy,fasting and ascetism,passions and passiones  diegomalara@hotmail.it
Roslyn Malcolm Autism,Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,Embodiment,Emergent Forms of Life,Empathy,Intersubjectivity,Medical Anthropology,Human-animal relationships  +44 (0)131 623 2860
R.C.Malcolm@sms.ed.ac.uk
Q. Adam Marshall Cambodia,Phnom Penh,Religion And Ritual,Khmer Buddhism,Khmer Evangelical Christianity,belief,the 'heart',ethics,Space,place and the city,Subjectivity and Personhood,nationalism,Modernity,Anthropology of the state  q.a.marshall@sms.ed.ac.uk
Stephen McConnachie Uganda,Buganda,East Africa,Happiness,Conceptions and pursuit of the good life,Well-being,Values,Morality  s.mcconnachie-3@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hannah McInnes-Dean Maternity,Paternity,Parents and parenthood,Gender and parenting,Sex & Gender,Reproductive Health,Kinship,Medical Anthropology,Childbearing,Perinatal care and support,Parental Leave  h.j.mcinnes-dean@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alice Nagle Performativity,Sexuality,Religious Identity,Childbearing,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,Christianity,Comedy and Humour,gender,marriage,Religion And Ritual,Kinship,Anthropology of the United States,Subjectivity and Personhood,agency,East Africa,life cycles,ethics and ideology,pregnancy,Pregnancy Loss,social reproduction  a.e.nagle@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tine Armed Forces,Military cultures,Medical anthropology,Mental Health,Ethnicity and culture,Violence,Trauma and PTSD  t.molendijk@sms.ed.ac.uk
Agathe C. Mora Anthropology of Law,Bureaucracy,property restitution,Transitional justice,Anthropology of institutions,Evidence,Kosovo,Europe  a.mora@ed.ac.uk
Declan Murray Electricity,Rubbish,Trash,Solar,Energy,Waste,Power,Design,Repair,Photovoltaics,E-waste,Maintenance,Infrastructure  s0804505@sms.ed.ac.uk
Pia Noel Medical Anthropology,Mental Health,Humanitarian intervention,Complementary and Alternative Medicines (CAM),Body Work,Poverty,International development,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,Nepal,Buddhism,Hinduism,Yoga,Social Determinants of Health,Discourses of Health and Wellness,Neo and Post-Colonial Studies,Resilience,Global Health,South Asia  Pia.Noel@ed.ac.uk
R. Elliott Oakley Environmental anthropology,Amazonia,Guyana,Indigenous Peoples,Conservation and development,Waiwai people,personhood  r.e.oakley@sms.ed.ac.uk
Katarina Ockova Kinship and relatedness,History and Memory, especially as explored through intergenerational relations,Jewishness,Diaspora and transnationalism,Marriage and marital preferences,Community Belonging,Religion And Ritual,gender,Slovakia  K.Ockova@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Takamasa Osawa Indonesia, Sumatra, Indigeneity, ethnicity, tribal identity, post-foragers  T.OSAWA-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
Silvia Pergetti Energy transition,Solar energy,Distributed generation,International development,Rural electrification,Materiality,Infrastructure,Grid,India,West Bengal  silvia.pergetti@ed.ac.uk
Rishabh Raghavan Light and electricity,Citizenship,Criminality,Bureaucracy,Police  rishabh.raghavan@ed.ac.uk
Lindsay Randall Gender,,Kinship,Islam,International development,Ethiopia,Marriage and polygamy,Anthropology of time,Feminist Theory,Political Anthropology,Ecnomic Anthropology,Anthropology of Childhood,Agency and Subjectivity  +44 07397812730
lindsay.randall@ed.ac.uk
Liz Ravalde  e.ravalde@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Ting Ting Shum China,Infectious Disease,Tuberculosis,Public Health Practice and Policy,Care,Subjectivity and Personhood,Value  t.shum@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kimberly Sigmund Natural Medicine,Complementary and Alternative Medicines (CAM),Mexico,Latin American Culture and Society,Healthcare,Medical Anthropology,Power (domination, authority, legitimacy)  S0898226@sms.ed.ac.uk
Emma Teale Christianity,Scotland,Prophecy,Spiritual territorialisation,Temporality,Celticism,Religious heritage,Leadership and Organisation  Emma.Teale@ed.ac.uk
Catherine Whittaker Gender,and Violence,Mexico,Mesoamerica,Nahuatl,morality,cosmology,Narrative,Intersectionality,Catholicism,Marginality,Democracy,Religion And Ritual,Politics of Indigeneity,Cosmopolitics,Testimony and memory  s1355862@sms.ed.ac.uk
Inna Yaneva-Toraman Anthropology of the body,personhood,death,Melanesia,Material Culture,Masks,Religion And Ritual,Christianity,Economic anthropology,land ownership,indigenous rights,Conservation and development  i.yaneva-toraman@ed.ac.uk
Candice Hiu-Yan Yu UK,Citizenship,Marriage and Intimate Relationships,Chinese would-be-permanent migrants,Social Mobility,employment barriers,forms of capital,highly educated migrants,agency  s1554512@sms.ed.ac.uk