Skip to main content

Social Anthropology:

Search

People

PhD Students

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Dr. Joe Anderson Gun Culture,Gun Ownership,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,California,National Belonging,San Diego,Phenomenology,United States,America,Anthropology of the United States,ethnography,Anthropology of ethics,gender  s0824638@sms.ed.ac.uk
Imogen Bevan Medical Anthropology,Kinship and relatedness,Scotland,Anthropology of food,Anthropology of Britain,Food Studies,sociology of food,Family and kinship,tobacco,Smoking  imogen.bevan@ed.ac.uk
Marina Fernández-Buil Anthropology of History,Anthropology of the Senses,Ethnomusicology,Historicity,Temporality,Embodiment,Performing Arts,Politics of Space,Memory,Cultural Rights,Culture Commodification,Heritage,Politics of Representation and Knowledge Production,Collaborative Ethnography,Hereditary Musicians,Western Rajasthan,South Asia  s1682722@sms.ed.ac.uk
Leah Eades medical anthropology,politics of reproduction,gender,social movements,construction and contestation of authoritative knowledge,politics of history,medico-legal nexuses  leah.eades@ed.ac.uk
No Photo John Hagström Anthropology of non-religion,Secular humanism,Atheism,Secularism and secularity,Ethics and morality  j.o.hagstrom@sms.ed.ac.uk
Maythe S. Han dog,kinship,Edinburgh,more-than-human,environment,ecology,ecological anthropology,creative ethnography,experimental research,interspecies ethnography,walking interview,veterinary anthropology,public anthropology,visual anthropology,materiality,material culture,queer theory,queer anthropology,decolonization,feminist methodologies,critical theory,linguistic anthropology,storytelling,experimental methodologies,friendship,relatedness  maythe.han@ed.ac.uk
Dr Roslyn Malcolm Autism,Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,Embodiment,Empathy,Intersubjectivity,Human-animal relationships,Science and technology studies,History of science and medicine,Sociality,sensorium,Phenomenology,Interdisciplinary Research,Energy,Kinship and relatedness,Sympathy,Materiality and matter  Roslyn.Malcolm@.ed.ac.uk
Dr Q. Adam Marshall Cambodia,Phnom Penh,Religion And Ritual,Khmer Buddhism,Khmer Evangelical Christianity,belief,the 'heart',ethics,Space,place and the city,Subjectivity and Personhood,Modernity,Anthropology of the state  q.a.marshall@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hannah McInnes-Dean Maternity,Paternity,Parents and parenthood,Gender and parenting,Sex & Gender,Reproductive Health,Kinship,Medical Anthropology,Childbearing,Perinatal care and support,Parental Leave  h.j.mcinnes-dean@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alice Nagle Performativity,Sexuality,Religious Identity,Childbearing,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,Christianity,Comedy and Humour,gender,marriage,Religion And Ritual,Kinship,Anthropology of the United States,Subjectivity and Personhood,agency,East Africa,life cycles,ethics and ideology,pregnancy,Pregnancy Loss,social reproduction  a.e.nagle@sms.ed.ac.uk
Pia Noel Medical Anthropology,Global Mental Health,Nepal and the Himalaya,Medical pluralism,Development and Humanitarian Aid,Transcultural psychiatry,Anthropology of psychiatry,International development,Public health,Disability Studies  Pia.Noel@ed.ac.uk
Katarina Ockova Kinship and relatedness,History and Memory, especially as explored through intergenerational relations,Jewishness,Diaspora and transnationalism,Marriage and marital preferences,Community Belonging,Religion And Ritual,gender,Slovakia  K.Ockova@sms.ed.ac.uk
Silvia Pergetti Anthropology of development,Materiality,Infrastructure,Imagination,Modernity,Solar energy,Energy transition,Distributed generation,India,Rural electrification,International development  silvia.pergetti@ed.ac.uk
Janet Perkins Policy construction,Human rights,Reproductive Maternal Newborn Child and Adolescent Health,International development,Medical Anthropology,Bangladesh,Gender and Development,organizations and institutions,Reproductive rights,Reproductive Health,Childbearing,Global Health Policy  J.E.Perkins@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rishabh Raghavan Citizenship,Criminality,Bureaucracy,Police,Energy & Infrastructure,illegality,thermal power plants,Tamil Nadu  rishabh.raghavan@ed.ac.uk
Lindsay Randall Gender,,Kinship,Islam,International development,Ethiopia,Marriage and polygamy,Anthropology of time,Feminist Theory,Political Anthropology,Ecnomic Anthropology,Anthropology of Childhood,Agency and Subjectivity  +44 07397812730
lindsay.randall@ed.ac.uk
Eunsil Shin Disaster, Fukushima, Risk Perception, Sense and Sensibility, Corporeality, Water  Eunsil.Shin@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Ting Ting Shum China,Infectious Disease,Tuberculosis,Public Health Practice and Policy,Care,Subjectivity and Personhood,Value  t.shum@sms.ed.ac.uk
Daniel Spotswood Animism,Personhood,Quechua,Peru,Mountains,Glaciers,Hierarchies,Pilgrimage,Sacrifice  D.Spotswood@ed.ac.uk
Emma Teale Christianity,Scotland,Prophecy,Spiritual territorialisation,Temporality,Celticism,Religious heritage,Leadership and Organisation  Emma.Teale@ed.ac.uk
Iona Walker Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,Antimicrobial resistance,Russia,Post-Socialism,Interdisciplinary Research,Art,multispecies ethnography,microbes  iona.walker@ed.ac.uk
Inna Yaneva-Toraman personhood,Melanesia,Material Culture,Masks,Religion And Ritual,Christianity,Economic anthropology,indigenous rights,landownership,Anthropology of development  i.yaneva-toraman@ed.ac.uk
Dr Candice Hiu Yan Andrade (formerly known as Hiu Yan Yu) China and East Asia,Hong Kong,Migration studies,anthropology of the middle class,gender,Student movements,skilled migrants,UK,Marriage and Intimate Relationships,time and temporality,marriage immigration,British visa system  s1554512@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ritti Soncco Medical Anthropology,Veterinary Anthropology,Zoonoses,zoonotic disease control,Environmental anthropology,Science and technology,visual anthropology,anthropology of landscape,art,advocacy,patient rights,patient advocacy,Lyme disease,Scotland,coronavirus  Ritti.Soncco@ed.ac.uk