Skip to main content

Social Anthropology:

Search

People

PhD Students

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Joe Anderson Gun Culture,Gun Ownership,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,California,National Belonging,San Diego,Phenomenology,United States,America,Anthropology of the United States,ethnography,Anthropology of ethics,gender  s0824638@sms.ed.ac.uk
Marina Fernández-Buil Anthropology of History,Anthropology of the Senses,Ethnomusicology,Historicity,Temporality,Embodiment,Performing Arts,Politics of Space,Memory,Cultural Rights,Culture Commodification,Heritage,Politics of Representation and Knowledge Production,Collaborative Ethnography,Hereditary Musicians,Western Rajasthan,South Asia  s1682722@sms.ed.ac.uk
Leah Eades Medical Anthropology,Feminist Anthropology,Reproductive Health,Reproductive Politics,Abortion  leah.eades@ed.ac.uk
Alysa Ghose Feminism,gender,Religious Identity,Witchcraft,femininity and masculinity,Intersectionality,spirits and the dead,Cuba,Latin America and the Caribbean,Power (domination,authority,legitimacy),personhood,ontology,spiritual development,intergenerational relationships,Kinship,knowledge production,empathy,intuition,African diaspora religions,embodiment and materiality,race  +44 7961902513
a.e.ghose@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo John Hagström Anthropology of non-religion,Secular humanism,Atheism,Secularism and secularity,Ethics and morality  j.o.hagstrom@sms.ed.ac.uk
Maythe S. Han dog,kinship,Edinburgh,more-than-human,environment,ecology,ecological anthropology,creative ethnography,experimental research,interspecies ethnography,walking interview,veterinary anthropology,public anthropology,visual anthropology,materiality,material culture,queer theory,queer anthropology,decolonization,feminist methodologies,critical theory,linguistic anthropology,storytelling,experimental methodologies,friendship,relatedness  maythe.han@ed.ac.uk
Lilian Kennedy, PhD Memory,Subjectivity and Personhood,Dementia,Care,Love,time and temporality,Family relationships,Kinship and relatedness,STS,GPS tracker technology,NHS,synchronicity  lilian.kennedy@ed.ac.uk
Mairi O'Gorman Values,Indian Ocean,Seychelles,Youth,Return / transnational migration,intimacy  s1259259@sms.ed.ac.uk
Dr Roslyn Malcolm Autism,Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,Embodiment,Empathy,Intersubjectivity,Human-animal relationships,Science and technology studies,History of science and medicine,Sociality,sensorium,Phenomenology,Interdisciplinary Research,Energy,Kinship and relatedness,Sympathy,Materiality and matter  Roslyn.Malcolm@.ed.ac.uk
Q. Adam Marshall Cambodia,Phnom Penh,Religion And Ritual,Khmer Buddhism,Khmer Evangelical Christianity,belief,the 'heart',ethics,Space,place and the city,Subjectivity and Personhood,nationalism,Modernity,Anthropology of the state  q.a.marshall@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hannah McInnes-Dean Maternity,Paternity,Parents and parenthood,Gender and parenting,Sex & Gender,Reproductive Health,Kinship,Medical Anthropology,Childbearing,Perinatal care and support,Parental Leave  h.j.mcinnes-dean@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alice Nagle Performativity,Sexuality,Religious Identity,Childbearing,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,Christianity,Comedy and Humour,gender,marriage,Religion And Ritual,Kinship,Anthropology of the United States,Subjectivity and Personhood,agency,East Africa,life cycles,ethics and ideology,pregnancy,Pregnancy Loss,social reproduction  a.e.nagle@sms.ed.ac.uk
Declan Murray Electricity,Rubbish,Trash,Solar,Energy,Waste,Power,Design,Repair,Photovoltaics,E-waste,Maintenance,Infrastructure  s0804505@sms.ed.ac.uk
Pia Noel Medical Anthropology,Global Mental Health,Nepal and the Himalaya,Medical pluralism,Development and Humanitarian Aid,Transcultural psychiatry,Anthropology of psychiatry,International development,Public health,Disability Studies  Pia.Noel@ed.ac.uk
Katarina Ockova Kinship and relatedness,History and Memory, especially as explored through intergenerational relations,Jewishness,Diaspora and transnationalism,Marriage and marital preferences,Community Belonging,Religion And Ritual,gender,Slovakia  K.Ockova@sms.ed.ac.uk
Silvia Pergetti Anthropology of development,Materiality,Infrastructure,Imagination,Modernity,Solar energy,Energy transition,Distributed generation,India,Rural electrification,International development  silvia.pergetti@ed.ac.uk
Janet Perkins Policy construction,Human rights,Reproductive Maternal Newborn Child and Adolescent Health,International development,Medical Anthropology,Bangladesh,Gender and Development,organizations and institutions,Reproductive rights,Reproductive Health,Childbearing,Global Health Policy  J.E.Perkins@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rishabh Raghavan Citizenship,Criminality,Bureaucracy,Police,Energy & Infrastructure,illegality,thermal power plants,Tamil Nadu  rishabh.raghavan@ed.ac.uk
Lindsay Randall Gender,,Kinship,Islam,International development,Ethiopia,Marriage and polygamy,Anthropology of time,Feminist Theory,Political Anthropology,Ecnomic Anthropology,Anthropology of Childhood,Agency and Subjectivity  +44 07397812730
lindsay.randall@ed.ac.uk
Eunsil Shin Disaster, Fukushima, Risk Perception, Sense and Sensibility, Corporeality, Water  Eunsil.Shin@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Ting Ting Shum China,Infectious Disease,Tuberculosis,Public Health Practice and Policy,Care,Subjectivity and Personhood,Value  t.shum@sms.ed.ac.uk
Daniel Spotswood Animism, Quechua, Peru, Mountains, Glaciers, Lightning, Dogs, Hierarchies, Sacrifice  s1617541@sms.ed.ac.uk
Emma Teale Christianity,Scotland,Prophecy,Spiritual territorialisation,Temporality,Celticism,Religious heritage,Leadership and Organisation  Emma.Teale@ed.ac.uk
Inna Yaneva-Toraman personhood,Melanesia,Material Culture,Masks,Religion And Ritual,Christianity,Economic anthropology,indigenous rights,landownership,Anthropology of development  i.yaneva-toraman@ed.ac.uk
Ritti Soncco Medical Anthropology,Veterinary Anthropology,Zoonoses,zoonotic disease control,Environmental anthropology,Science and technology,visual anthropology,anthropology of landscape,art  Ritti.Soncco@ed.ac.uk