Skip to main content

Social Anthropology:

Search

People

PhD Students

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Imogen Bevan Medical Anthropology,Kinship and relatedness,Scotland,Anthropology of food,Anthropology of Britain,Food Studies,sociology of food,Family and kinship,tobacco,Smoking  imogen.bevan@ed.ac.uk
Marina Fernández-Buil Anthropology of History,Anthropology of the Senses,Ethnomusicology,Historicity,Temporality,Embodiment,Performing Arts,Politics of Space,Memory,Cultural Rights,Social and Inter-religious Conflict,Decolonization,Heritage Regimes,Politics of Representation and Knowledge Production,Collaborative Ethnography,Western Rajasthan,South and Central Asia  s1682722@sms.ed.ac.uk
Leah Eades medical anthropology,politics of reproduction,gender,social movements,medico-legal nexuses,authoritative and contested knowledge,medical humanities  leah.eades [@] ed.ac.uk
No Photo John Hagström Anthropology of non-religion,Secular humanism,Atheism,Secularism and secularity,Ethics and morality  j.o.hagstrom@sms.ed.ac.uk
Maythe S.-W. Han kinship,ecology,ecological anthropology,creative ethnography,experimental research,visual anthropology,materiality,material culture,critical theory,linguistic anthropology,storytelling,experimental methodologies,friendship,relatedness,dogs,multispecies anthropology,more-than-human ethnography,critical whiteness studies  maythe.han@ed.ac.uk
Sophia Hoffinger Human rights,Legal anthropology,Germany,Israeli-Palestinian conflict,Memory politics,Multiculturalism,Anti-colonial resistance,solidarity,Nationalism and National Identity,anti-racism  S.C.Hoffinger@sms.ed.ac.uk
Marte Knudsen Balance of power,Elections,ethnography,Ideology,organizations and institutions,Social movements,theories of global justice,Nation-state,USA,Social change,Inequality,Labour Market,Social Class,Grassroots Movements,political mobilization,Police Accountability,Guns,Leftism,Anthropology of the state,Identity and class culture  +4798048656
Marte.Knudsen@ed.ac.uk
Q. Adam Marshall Cambodia,Phnom Penh,Religion And Ritual,Khmer Buddhism,Khmer Evangelical Christianity,belief,the 'heart',ethics,Space,place and the city,Subjectivity and Personhood,political anthropology  q.a.marshall@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hannah McInnes-Dean Maternity,Paternity,Parents and parenthood,Gender and parenting,Sex & Gender,Reproductive Health,Kinship,Medical Anthropology,Childbearing,Perinatal care and support,Parental Leave  h.j.mcinnes-dean@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lee McNeish Environment,infrastructure,Anthropology of the future,imagined futures,outer space,crofting,Scotland,Anthropology of Technology,colonialism and imperialism  lee.mcneish@ed.ac.uk
Alice Nagle Performativity,Sexuality,Religious Identity,Childbearing,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,Christianity,Comedy and Humour,gender,marriage,Religion And Ritual,Kinship,Anthropology of the United States,Subjectivity and Personhood,agency,East Africa,life cycles,ethics and ideology,pregnancy,Pregnancy Loss,social reproduction  a.e.nagle@sms.ed.ac.uk
Pia Noel Medical Anthropology,Global Mental Health,Nepal and the Himalaya,Medical pluralism,Development and Humanitarian Aid,Transcultural psychiatry,Anthropology of psychiatry,International development,Public health,Disability Studies,Disasters  Pia.Noel@ed.ac.uk
Katarina Ockova Kinship and relatedness,History and Memory, especially as explored through intergenerational relations,Jewishness,Diaspora and transnationalism,Marriage and marital preferences,Community Belonging,Religion And Ritual,gender,Slovakia  K.Ockova@sms.ed.ac.uk
Silvia Pergetti Anthropology of development,Materiality,Infrastructure,Imagination,Modernity,Solar energy,Energy transition,Distributed generation,India,Rural electrification,International development  silvia.pergetti@ed.ac.uk
Janet Perkins Policy construction,Human rights,Reproductive Maternal Newborn Child and Adolescent Health,International development,Medical Anthropology,Bangladesh,Gender and Development,organizations and institutions,Reproductive rights,Reproductive Health,Childbearing,Global Health Policy  J.E.Perkins@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rishabh Raghavan Citizenship,Criminality,Bureaucracy,Police,Energy & Infrastructure,illegality,thermal power plants,Tamil Nadu  rishabh.raghavan@ed.ac.uk
Lindsay Randall Gender,,Kinship,Islam,International development,Ethiopia,Marriage and polygamy,Anthropology of time,Feminist Theory,Political Anthropology,Ecnomic Anthropology,Anthropology of Childhood,Agency and Subjectivity  +44 07397812730
lindsay.randall@ed.ac.uk
Eunsil Shin Disaster, Fukushima, Risk Perception, Sense and Sensibility, Corporeality, Water  Eunsil.Shin@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Ting Ting Shum China,Infectious Disease,Tuberculosis,Public Health Practice and Policy,Care,Subjectivity and Personhood,Value  t.shum@sms.ed.ac.uk
Daniel Spotswood Animism,Personhood,Quechua,Peru,Mountains,Glaciers,Hierarchies,Pilgrimage,Sacrifice  D.Spotswood@ed.ac.uk
Emma Teale Christianity,Scotland,Prophecy,Spiritual territorialisation,Temporality,Celticism,Religious heritage,Leadership and Organisation  Emma.Teale@ed.ac.uk
Iona Walker Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,Antimicrobial resistance,Russia,Post-Socialism,Interdisciplinary Research,Art,multispecies ethnography,microbes  iona.walker@ed.ac.uk
Joel White political anthropology,immigration detention,care,solidarity,anti-racism,friendship,housing,Activism,Kinship,borders,carcerality,prison abolition,Immigration and asylum policy,work,social reproduction,trauma,care work,medical care,colonialism and imperialism  jwhite33@ed.ac.uk
Ritti Soncco Medical Anthropology,Veterinary Anthropology,Zoonoses,zoonotic disease control,Environmental anthropology,Science and technology,visual anthropology,anthropology of landscape,art,advocacy,patient rights,patient advocacy,Lyme disease,Scotland,coronavirus  Ritti.Soncco@ed.ac.uk