Skip to main content

Social Anthropology:

Search

People

Teaching & Research Fellows

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Hsiao-Chiao Chiu ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship and relatedness,Kinship-related rituals,Gender,Marriage and marital preferences,Taiwan,China,Anthropology of ethics,care G. 03 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 131 6505928
Hsiaochiao.Chiu@ed.ac.uk
Michael Crawley ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow Anthropology of Ethiopia,Youth,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,Anthropology of Sport 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 511633
Michael.Crawley@ed.ac.uk
Morteza Hashemi Leverhulme ECF Global Social Theory,Decoloniality,Sociology of Immigration,Sociology of Religion,Sociology of Technology,Intersection of Religion and Technology,Race and Identity,Social Integration in Britain,Ethnography,Fortress Europe,Neo-Khaldunian Social Theory,Blood and Organ Donation,Biopolitics,Medical Sociology 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4273 (direct line)
Morteza.Hashemi@ed.ac.uk
Chisomo Kalinga Wellcome Trust Medical Humanities Fellow Medical Humanities,Illness narratives,Narrative Medicine,Disease as Metaphor,Arts & Humanities-based research methodologies,participatory action resarch,Oral & print literary cultures,History of Medicine in Malawi,Traditional healing practices G.3 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)1316 515118
Chisomo.Kalinga@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Sidharthan Maunaguru Newton Fellow 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
No Photo Galina Oustinova-Stjepanovic Senior Research Fellow (Ancon, ERC funded) Sovereignty,Cosmopolitics,Anti-Zionism,Jewish Left,Russia,Anthropology of Religion,Macedonia,Failure,Cultures of atheism 4.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
G.Oustinova-Stjepanovic@ed.ac.uk
Eirini Papadaki ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship,adoption,,motherhood,gender,Sexuality,marriage,ethics,unwed pregnancy,Greece G.03 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)1314678081
e.papadaki@ed.ac.uk
Koreen Reece ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship,Marriage,Care,Crisis,HIV and AIDS,Children and childhood,International development,Humanitarianism,NGOs,Social work,Botswana,Southern Africa G.3 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)131 650 6889
Koreen.Reece@ed.ac.uk
Michelle Taylor Senior Research Fellow, DiaDev Global Health,International development,Control of neglected zoonotic and tropical diseases,diagnostics,drug discovery and development,Development aid,Evidence 1.01 
21 George Square
+44 (0)131 6504081
E.M.Taylor@ed.ac.uk
Eva Vernooij Research Fellow HIV and AIDS,Medical Anthropology,Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,health care systems,policy and interventions,diagnostics,hospital ethnography,sub-Saharan Africa  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+31(6)24542534
Eva.Vernooij@ed.ac.uk
Emilija Zabiliute Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow South Asia,India,diabetes,Medical Anthropology,care,kinship,vulnerability,urban poor,neighbours,gender,gendered violence,Gender and Development,International development 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Emilija.zabiliute@ed.ac.uk