Skip to main content

Social Anthropology:

Search

People

Teaching & Research Fellows

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Hsiao-Chiao Chiu ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship and relatedness,Kinship-related rituals,Gender,Marriage and marital preferences,Taiwan,China G. 03 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 131 6505928
Hsiaochiao.Chiu@ed.ac.uk
Jennifer Curtis Postdoctoral Fellow  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
jennifer.curtis@ed.ac.uk
Alex Gapud Teaching Fellow 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
agapud@ed.ac.uk
Andreas Hackl Teaching Fellow: Anthropology of Development 4.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6515357
andreas.hackl@ed.ac.uk
Delwar Hussain Lecturer and Chancellors Fellow ethnography,Gender and Sexuality,Borderlands,Bangladesh,Fences,South Asia,Modernisation,Decolonisation,War on terror,Political Islam,Religious Identity,labour,religion,LGBT,Spain,history,Pakistan,India  George Square
+44 (0)131 651 5071
delwar.hussain@ed.ac.uk
Siobhan Magee Lecturer in Social Anthropology Kinship and relatedness,Marriage,History and Memory,Gender and Sexuality,Material Culture,United States,Poland,Political and economic anthropology G.3 
22a Buccleuch Place
siobhan.magee(at)ed.ac.uk
Laura Major Career Development Fellow (Lecturer), Social Anthropology Ethnography,Memory,Material Culture,Conflict and Post-Conflict Politics,Museum Studies,Anthropology of Death,Anthropology of the body 3.20, 3F1 
18 Buccleuch Place
0131 6511 329
l.major@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Sidharthan Maunaguru Newton Fellow 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
No Photo Kate Milosavljevic Post-doctoral research fellow Science and technology studies,Human-animal relationships,Bees,Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,Agriculture and the politics of food,new scientific and medical technologies,,Urban Ethnography,Agriculture and Rural Livelihoods,prostheses,Technology and society 3.22 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 6630
k.milosavljevic@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Galina Oustinova-Stjepanovic Senior Research Fellow (Ancon, ERC funded) Sovereignty,Cosmopolitics,Anti-Zionism,Jewish Left,Russia,Anthropology of Religion,Macedonia,Failure,Cultures of atheism 4.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
G.Oustinova-Stjepanovic@ed.ac.uk
Eirini Papadaki ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship,adoption,,motherhood,gender,Sexuality,marriage,ethics,unwed pregnancy,Greece G.03 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)1314678081
e.papadaki@ed.ac.uk
Koreen Reece ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship,Marriage,Care,Crisis,HIV and AIDS,Children and childhood,International development,Humanitarianism,NGOs,Social work,Botswana,Southern Africa G.3 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)131 650 6889
Koreen.Reece@ed.ac.uk
Leila Sinclair-Bright Career Development Fellow (Research and Teaching) Politics of belonging,Citizenship,Political and legal anthropology,Zimbabwe,Land Reform,Human rights,Humanitarianism,ethnography,postcolonial state and civil society,art and anthropology 3.22 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 131 6506630
Leila.Sinclair-Bright@ed.ac.uk
Mally (Malgorzata) Stelmaszyk Teaching Fellow in Social Anthropology Witchcraft,curses,Post-socialist transformation,music and sound,alcohol addiction,shamanism,spirit possession 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
mstelmas@exseed.ed.ac.uk
E. Michelle Taylor Senior Research Fellow, DiaDev Global Health,International development,Control of neglected zoonotic and tropical diseases,diagnostics,drug discovery and development,Development aid,Evidence G.1 
22 George Square
+44 (0)131 6504081
E.M.Taylor@ed.ac.uk
Eva Vernooij Research Fellow HIV and AIDS,Medical Anthropology,Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,health care systems,policy and interventions,diagnostics,hospital ethnography,sub-Saharan Africa  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+31(6)24542534
Eva.Vernooij@ed.ac.uk
Emilija Zabiliute Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow South Asia,India,diabetes,Medical Anthropology,care,kinship,vulnerability,urban poor,neighbours,gender,gendered violence,Gender and Development,International development 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Emilija.zabiliute@ed.ac.uk