Skip to main content

Social Anthropology:

Search

People

Teaching & Research Fellows

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Clayton Boeyink Research Fellow refugees and displacement,refugee camps,livelihoods,Cash Transfers,Healthcare,displaced Somalis,displaced Congolese,displaced Burundians,self-reliance,food aid,brokerage,Urban Refugees,invisibility,Tanzania,Kenya  cboeyink@ed.ac.uk
Morteza Hashemi Honorary Fellow Global Social Theory,Decoloniality,Sociology of Immigration,Sociology of Religion,Sociology of Technology,Intersection of Religion and Technology,Race and Identity,Social Integration in Britain,Ethnography,Fortress Europe,Neo-Khaldunian Social Theory,Blood and Organ Donation,Grassroots Movements,Medical Sociology,Philanthropy  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Morteza.Hashemi@ed.ac.uk
Chisomo Kalinga Wellcome Trust Medical Humanities Fellow Medical Humanities,Illness narratives,Narrative Medicine,Disease as Metaphor,Arts & Humanities-based research methodologies,participatory action resarch,Oral & print literary cultures,History of Medicine in Malawi,Traditional healing practices G.3 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)1316 515118
Chisomo.Kalinga@ed.ac.uk
Shona Jane Lee Research Fellow Neglected diseases and zoonoses,diagnostics,Global Health Policy,Medical Anthropology,Science and technology studies,Social Epidemiology  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
shona.lee@ed.ac.uk
Eirini Papadaki ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship,adoption,,motherhood,gender,Sexuality,marriage,ethics,unwed pregnancy,Greece G.03 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)1314678081
e.papadaki@ed.ac.uk
Koreen M. Reece ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship,Marriage,Care,Crisis,HIV and AIDS,Children and childhood,International development,Humanitarianism,NGOs,Social work,Botswana,Southern Africa G.3 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)131 650 6889
Koreen.Reece@ed.ac.uk
Michelle Taylor Senior Research Fellow, DiaDev Global Health,International development,Control of neglected zoonotic and tropical diseases,diagnostics,drug discovery and development,Development aid,Evidence 1.01 
21 George Square
+44 (0)131 6504081
E.M.Taylor@ed.ac.uk
Eva Vernooij Research Fellow HIV and AIDS,Medical Anthropology,Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,health care systems,policy and interventions,diagnostics,hospital ethnography,sub-Saharan Africa  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+31(6)24542534
Eva.Vernooij@ed.ac.uk
Inna Yaneva-Toraman Anthropology of development,Economic anthropology,Sociology of Sustainability,Environmental Sociology,Sociology of Education,Education for Sustainable Development,sustainable development,political economy,politics of identity,land and landownership,agroecology and conservation management,sustainable farming,rural development,agrarian change,material culture,personhood,ritual and religion,Melanesia  i.yaneva-toraman@ed.ac.uk
Emilija Zabiliute Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow South Asia,India,diabetes,Medical Anthropology,care,kinship,vulnerability,urban poor,neighbours,gender,gendered violence,Gender and Development,International development 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Emilija.zabiliute@ed.ac.uk