Skip to main content

Social Anthropology:

Search

People

Teaching & Research Fellows

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Sebastien Bachelet Postdoctoral Research Fellow Morocco,illegality,arts,advocacy,Political participation,sub-Saharan migration,Migration Studies,Forced displacement  Seb.Bachelet@ed.ac.uk
Jennifer Curtis Postdoctoral Fellow  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
jennifer.curtis@ed.ac.uk
Andreas Hackl Postdoctoral Fellow in Social Anthropology, ESRC Global Challenges Research Fund (GCRF) 4.03 
21 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 6511730
andreas.hackl@ed.ac.uk
Luke Heslop Postdoctoral Research Fellow 3.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
George Square
Instagram
Luke.Heslop@ed.ac.uk
Delwar Hussain Chrystal Macmillan Fellow Elections,ethnography,State building,Storytelling and ethnography,Gender and Sexuality,Borderlands,Bangladesh,Fences,South Asia,Modernisation Rm 3.17, 3F2 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 651 5071
dhussain@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Heid Jerstad Climate change,Weather,HImalaya,India 4.03 
21 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 13165513997
heid.jerstad@ed.ac.uk
Justin Kenrick Honorary Fellow Climate Change and Sustainability: Can community responses in the Global North and South enable the politically possible to be reshaped by the ecologically necessary?,Central Africa: Is it possible to reconceptualise and reshape conservation and development projects so that they support rather than devastate local people's lives?,Commons Regimes, Indigenous Peoples Rights and Life Projects:  
No Photo Henrietta Lidchi  H.Lidchi@nms.ac.uk
Siobhan Magee ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship and relatedness,Marriage,History and Memory,especially as explored through intergenerational relations,Gender and Sexuality,Material Culture,United States,Poland B.31 
19 George Square
siobhan.magee@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Laura Major Career Development Fellow, Social Anthropology Ethnography,Memory,Material Culture,Conflict and Post-Conflict Politics,Museum Studies,Anthropology of Death,Anthropology of the body 3.20, 3F1 
18 Buccleuch Place
0131 6511 329
l.major@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Sidharthan Maunaguru Newton Fellow 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
No Photo Kate Milosavljevic Post-doctoral research fellow Science and technology studies,Human-animal relationships,Bees,Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,Agriculture and the politics of food,new scientific and medical technologies,,Urban Ethnography,Agriculture and Rural Livelihoods,prostheses,Technology and society 3.22 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 6630
k.milosavljevic@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Galina Oustinova-Stjepanovic Senior Research Fellow (Ancon, ERC funded) Sovereignty,Cosmopolitics,Anti-Zionism,Jewish Left,Russia,Anthropology of Religion,Macedonia,Failure,Cultures of atheism 4.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
G.Oustinova-Stjepanovic@ed.ac.uk
Leila Sinclair-Bright Career Development Fellow (Research and Teaching) Politics of belonging,Citizenship,Political and legal anthropology,Zimbabwe,Land Reform,Human rights,Humanitarianism,ethnography,postcolonial state and civil society 3.22 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 131 6506630
Leila.Sinclair-Bright@ed.ac.uk
Grit Wesser Career Development Fellow (teaching and research) history and memory,kinship and gender,ritual and personhood,Eastern Germany,Anthropology of the state,Migration and citizenship,Anthropology of Europe,Cold War and post-Cold War studies,Secularity 3.20, 3F1 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 4681
Grit.Wesser@ed.ac.uk