Skip to main content

Social Anthropology:

Search

People

Teaching & Research Fellows

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Shruti Chaudhry Research Fellow 1.01 
21 George Square
+44 (0)1316511778
Shruti.Chaudhry@ed.ac.uk
Hsiao-Chiao Chiu ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship and relatedness,Kinship-related rituals,Gender,Marriage and marital preferences,Taiwan,China G. 03 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 131 6505928
Hsiaochiao.Chiu@ed.ac.uk
Alex Gapud Teaching Fellow Anthropology of memory,History and Memory,Anthropology of Britain,Anthropology of History,Bristol,Contested Heritage,Materiality,Secrets,Silence,colonial aphasia,Metropolitan Postcolonial Memory,Politics of Memory,British Empire 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
agapud@ed.ac.uk
Andreas Hackl Senior Research Fellow 3.20 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 6515357
andreas.hackl@ed.ac.uk
Morteza Hashemi Leverhulme ECF Social theory,Sociology of knowledge and science,Sociology of Technology,Religion Studies,transhumanism,Immigration,postsecularism,Anthropology of Technology,Intersection of Religion and Technology 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Morteza.Hashemi@ed.ac.uk
Leo Hopkinson Teaching Fellow  l.g.h.hopkinson@sms.ed.ac.uk
Chisomo Kalinga Wellcome Trust Medical Humanities Fellow Medical Humanities,Illness narratives,Narrative Medicine,Disease as Metaphor,Arts & Humanities-based research methodologies,participatory action resarch,Oral & print literary cultures,History of Medicine in Malawi,Traditional healing practices G.3 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)1316 515118
Chisomo.Kalinga@ed.ac.uk
Laura Major Career Development Fellow (Lecturer), Social Anthropology Ethnography,Memory,Material Culture,Conflict and Post-Conflict Politics,Museum Studies,Anthropology of Death,Anthropology of the body 3.20, 3F1 
18 Buccleuch Place
0131 6511 329
l.major@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Sidharthan Maunaguru Newton Fellow 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
No Photo Galina Oustinova-Stjepanovic Senior Research Fellow (Ancon, ERC funded) Sovereignty,Cosmopolitics,Anti-Zionism,Jewish Left,Russia,Anthropology of Religion,Macedonia,Failure,Cultures of atheism 4.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
G.Oustinova-Stjepanovic@ed.ac.uk
Eirini Papadaki ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship,adoption,,motherhood,gender,Sexuality,marriage,ethics,unwed pregnancy,Greece G.03 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)1314678081
e.papadaki@ed.ac.uk
Koreen Reece ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship,Marriage,Care,Crisis,HIV and AIDS,Children and childhood,International development,Humanitarianism,NGOs,Social work,Botswana,Southern Africa G.3 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)131 650 6889
Koreen.Reece@ed.ac.uk
Mally (Malgorzata) Stelmaszyk Teaching Fellow in Social Anthropology Witchcraft,curses,Post-socialist transformation,music and sound,alcohol addiction,shamanism,spirit possession 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
mstelmas@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Michelle Taylor Senior Research Fellow, DiaDev Global Health,International development,Control of neglected zoonotic and tropical diseases,diagnostics,drug discovery and development,Development aid,Evidence 1.01 
21 George Square
+44 (0)131 6504081
E.M.Taylor@ed.ac.uk
Eva Vernooij Research Fellow HIV and AIDS,Medical Anthropology,Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,health care systems,policy and interventions,diagnostics,hospital ethnography,sub-Saharan Africa  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+31(6)24542534
Eva.Vernooij@ed.ac.uk
Emilija Zabiliute Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow South Asia,India,diabetes,Medical Anthropology,care,kinship,vulnerability,urban poor,neighbours,gender,gendered violence,Gender and Development,International development 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Emilija.zabiliute@ed.ac.uk