Skip to main content

Social Anthropology:

Search

People

Teaching & Research Fellows

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Sebastien Bachelet Postdoctoral Research Fellow Morocco,illegality,arts,advocacy,Political participation,sub-Saharan migration,Migration Studies,Forced displacement  Seb.Bachelet@ed.ac.uk
Hsiao-Chiao Chiu ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship and relatedness,Kinship-related rituals,Gender,Marriage and marital preferences,Taiwan,China G. 03 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 131 6505928
Hsiaochiao.Chiu@ed.ac.uk
Jennifer Curtis Postdoctoral Fellow  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
jennifer.curtis@ed.ac.uk
Andreas Hackl Postdoctoral Fellow in Social Anthropology, ESRC Global Challenges Research Fund (GCRF) 4.03 
21 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 6511730
andreas.hackl@ed.ac.uk
Luke Heslop Postdoctoral Research Fellow 3.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
George Square
Instagram
Luke.Heslop@ed.ac.uk
Delwar Hussain Chrystal Macmillan Fellow Elections,ethnography,State building,Storytelling and ethnography,Gender and Sexuality,Borderlands,Bangladesh,Fences,South Asia,Modernisation Rm 3.17, 3F2 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 651 5071
dhussain@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Heid Jerstad Climate change,Weather,india,Himalayas 4.03 
21 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 131 651 3997
heid.jerstad@ed.ac.uk
Siobhan Magee ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship and relatedness,Marriage,History and Memory,especially as explored through intergenerational relations,Gender and Sexuality,Material Culture,United States,Poland B.31 
19 George Square
siobhan.magee(at)ed.ac.uk
No Photo Laura Major Career Development Fellow (Lecturer), Social Anthropology Ethnography,Memory,Material Culture,Conflict and Post-Conflict Politics,Museum Studies,Anthropology of Death,Anthropology of the body 3.20, 3F1 
18 Buccleuch Place
0131 6511 329
l.major@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Sidharthan Maunaguru Newton Fellow 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
No Photo Kate Milosavljevic Post-doctoral research fellow Science and technology studies,Human-animal relationships,Bees,Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,Agriculture and the politics of food,new scientific and medical technologies,,Urban Ethnography,Agriculture and Rural Livelihoods,prostheses,Technology and society 3.22 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 6630
k.milosavljevic@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Galina Oustinova-Stjepanovic Senior Research Fellow (Ancon, ERC funded) Sovereignty,Cosmopolitics,Anti-Zionism,Jewish Left,Russia,Anthropology of Religion,Macedonia,Failure,Cultures of atheism 4.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
G.Oustinova-Stjepanovic@ed.ac.uk
Eirini Papadaki ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship,adoption,,motherhood,gender,Sexuality,marriage,ethics,unwed pregnancy,Greece G.03 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)1314678081
e.papadaki@ed.ac.uk
Koreen Reece ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship,Marriage,Care,Crisis,HIV and AIDS,Children and childhood,International development,Humanitarianism,NGOs,Social work,Botswana,Southern Africa 4.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Koreen.Reece@ed.ac.uk
Leila Sinclair-Bright Career Development Fellow (Research and Teaching) Politics of belonging,Citizenship,Political and legal anthropology,Zimbabwe,Land Reform,Human rights,Humanitarianism,ethnography,postcolonial state and civil society 3.22 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 131 6506630
Leila.Sinclair-Bright@ed.ac.uk
Grit Wesser Career Development Fellow (teaching and research) history and memory,kinship and gender,ritual and personhood,Eastern Germany,Anthropology of the state,Migration and citizenship,Anthropology of Europe,Cold War and post-Cold War studies,Secularity 3.20, 3F1 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 4681
Grit.Wesser@ed.ac.uk